Your thoughts on PBW using a Rotary buffer

T

TangoMan

Hi GT,
I'm pretty new to the rotary and have worked on around four cars now with it, after having practiced on an old Ford Mexico.
There are three different pads in my arsenal altogether; Lake Country's medium cutting (orange), polishing (white) and finishing (black). Out of those three I find the white to be the most used, only ever using the cutting pad on badly oxidesed paint. I nearly always use SSR2.5 as nearly all the cars have swirls and it breaks down pretty quickly, working at speeds of between 1000 and 2000 rpm. The biggest problem I have is the pads seem to clog up quickly and so I will get through three in one session. That I think is probably down to me getting use to how much product to use and the fact it is filling up with oxidised paint! For clearcoats I will usually use SSR2 on a white pad finishing off with PB Pro Polish.
The cars I have worked on are California Yellow MX5, Grand Pre White Integra, Custom Paint Westfield XTR2 and a dark blue Mini Cooper (BMW)
Image-E686119915B611DB.jpg

There have been occasions where I have needed to use SSR3 but this combined with a rotary is very agressive and needs to be used with caution.

The rotary is only ever used on bad paintwork because is gets results quick, the problem is it is much more difficult to control and can also do a lot more damage. The PC comes out the rest of the time as I can move that much more easily around the contours of the car and with one hand.

V

vwgtivw

Nice work :smt023 . Just keep practicing with the rotary and it will be as easy to use as the PC. I find the two complement each other very well.

X

xgo

Splatters?

How about the splatterings of the product using the rotary? with a LC Pads?
I get so much of it everytime I use the rotary even if I put a small amount of product on each panel.

I usually cover the glass with newspaper. :oops:

BigLeegr

Token Brute and Chief Bottle Washer
Staff member
Re: Splatters?