Need some help choosing a dual action machine....for a NEWB.....

I have lots of experience with using a random orbital machine applying wax. Now I see people using the Porter Cable, Flex, Meguiar's, and Griot's dual action setups for applying and removing wax.

I have zero experience with a dual action machine. I need to start somewhere. I want to get a good machine to start off with so I almost bought the Meguiar's Dual Action twice but I hesitated. I didn't know what I needed as far as pads or any other accessories.

Please help me get into using a DA.

BJohnson

Advanced Helper
If you can swing it I would get a Flex! They are a bit pricey but worth it. Steve a.k.a. Poorboy will give you a good deal on one.

heck

Advanced Helper
Flex- the best of the best
Griot's- lifetime warranty, can use 6' pads
PC- most popular works with 5" pads
Meguiar's- redesigned and hear good things

sscully

Advanced Helper
I just went around with the DA machine selection.

Save yourself the trouble, get the Flex ( if the money is available ). You will have a great unit that can do more defect removal than a PC, Griot's or Meguiar's machine. It does cost ~ 2.5x more.

I had a PC that was "liberated" from the work shop to use on the vehicles, replaced the shop unit with a Makita BO6040 6"

2010 I started looking for a replacement, the PC7424 was ~ 15+ years old, and felt like it was going to come apart in my hands ( it did quite a bit of work in the shop before changing roles and I had been through 1 set of brushes on it ).

I got the Meguiar's G110 ( not the V2 from the SN ) and I was less than impressed with it. It did not seem to do any better than my old PC. The G110V2 might be better, but I think the reviews on the G110 were from the name sake only, had nothing to do with someone owning both as active units in the same condition. The G100 was just an OEM'd PC7424.