Polishing virgin needing guidance

T

Tequipment

Morning everyone.

I need some of you to share your wisdom with me please.

I've got a 2010 Audi A3 Black Edition that I'm wanting to polish.
When I got the car last year, my brother polished it with his works rotary polisher and removed all the scuffs and scratches using wet sanding and 3 grades of 3M polishes. It looked great, but after the winter and about 50 washes it needs it's swirls removing again.

They're nothing major, but I'd like to be able to do it myself this time and keep on top of it.
The paint's had plenty of Poorboys products on it over the last year (S&W, S&G, BH, QD+, BH and Nattys Blue), but polishing is totally new to me.

My question (eventually) is where do I start? I haven't got days or a fortune to spend on it and being a novice I'd prefer something that's low risk.

I've got a Rupes BR51AN Random Orbital sander/polisher that I've used with Black Hole, so I was hoping to be able to use this as I haven't got the cash to fork out on a new one. It only has one speed (7000rpm), and has a 6" pad diameter.

Where do I start?
The way I see it, I've got a few choices -
- Professional Polish (or isn't this for swirl removal?)
- PWC
- PWS
- SSR range

How do the non-abrasive ones work, are these just for cleaning rather than swirl removal?

And lastly, what sort of pads do I need?

I realise that to do it properly would probably involve a lot of different polishes and a dozen different pads, but is there an easier method for a beginner like me?

Please remember that I know very little about this part of detailing, so you'll need to keep it simple for me ;)

Thanks.

johnnyb

Advanced Helper
I haven't yet tried exclusively poorboys products when doing swirl removal on cars, so I will wait till someone can better answer that for ya.