Hand Polishing & Waxing After Claying

S

Shakey1980

Hey all,

I have my first order of Poorboy's products on the way for the weekend (I'm excited) and I'm really in two minds as to whether to use a clay bar before polishing. I think both of our cars would benefit from it as they haven't had anything like that kind of attention for years. However, I have read from some sellers of Poorboy's clay bars that they only recommend Poorboy's clay bar if you intend to follow with a machine polish, which I don't.

Now, I've never used a clay bar before but I'm pretty careful with this kind of thing and I'm not 'ham fisted'. Do you guys think I should just go for it? Or can you confirm that it isn't a good idea to use a clay bar if polishing by hand afterwards.

Many thanks in advance.

Poorboy

Founder
Staff member
well my friend there is a lot of bad information among the good ... I have never heard of this before and there is no problem working by hand after claying?

Where has this misinformation come from?

sscully

Advanced Helper
Follow with polish or "machine polish" ?

I am of the group that anytime clay touches paint it needs to be polished.
- I assume at the very least micro marring will happen from the clay process, but that is not a fact proven 100% of the time. It is more of a belt and suspenders tact on detailing that I use.

How the polishing is done is up to the individual.
It can be done by hand. If you are in good enough shape and / or have a small vehicle hand polishing can be done.

I would not want to do it today, but back in the 80's I hand polished my Ford F-100 at least two times per year.
It was an all day process with that much sheet metal, and old school products.
I think if I tried it today, I would have a rotator cuff injury that would take 2 months to recover from, but I am old and slowly falling apart.

Or

"Machine Polish" as in the M company product or Polish ( like ProPolish ) ?