Advice on which products would be best to use

D

denise

I have a 1998 metallic green vauxhall tigra and am looking forward to carryoing out some detailing on my car if i knew what products would be best to use but as i am new to the polishing and detailing scene there are so many different products available that i am completely confused and am not sure which products to use!I plan to apply all products with a Halford's car polisher and buff off either with the polisher or by hand. Would anyone be able to give me some advice on which products would be best to use? Also, considering the age of the car would i be best to use a polish and wax all in one or a separate wax and a separate polish time is not an issue but was unsure which would be best? Could anyone give me some advice thank-you in advance :)

Poorboy

Founder
Staff member
Welcome to our forum...first question is what is a Halford's buffer...after we figure that out then we can suggest what and how to fix up your car. :)

BigLeegr

Token Brute and Chief Bottle Washer
Staff member
200-681361.jpg

or possibly:
200-234542.jpg

(Halfords is a store in the UK.)
Hope this helps! :smt039

BigLeegr

Token Brute and Chief Bottle Washer
Staff member
Well, I was hoping one of the "pros" would chime in, after I offered my amazingly helpful help, :roll: but, I guess I'll chime in myself.
First, I wouldn't recommend removing the product with the buffer. If you've applied the product "properly' you shouldn't need much effort to remove it. If you find it hard to remove, it may be that you used too much product. (If you can't see your paint through the residue, you've got too much product applied! :eek: )
Generally speaking, you will get better results from dedicated products/multiple steps than an "All-In-One" product. This isn't to say that you can't get good results from the AIO, rather, that you'd be able to concentrate more on what needs more attention and address specific concerns with multi-step systems.