SSR2 strong enough???

J

jmiller_81

I'm new to this whole detailing thing and recently purchased a pc 7336 as well as an edge 2000 pad system. I purchased the SSR1 and SSR2 swirl removers and just tryed them out on my 05 Black Honda Pilot. The hood has some etching (possibly acid rain). I had to do 3 passes on a 2x2 section with ssr2 using the orange light cutting pad on speed 6 to get rid of it. I need to do this to my entire hood and roof, should I step it up to SSR2.2 or SSR3?? Is there a big difference between SSR2 and SSR2.5?? Or should I step up the pad to the medium cutting pad (Green) with SSR2?? Also once the etching is gone should I polish with SSR1 and them go to an LSP?? Or do I need to get a pure polish after SSR1??

BigLeegr

Token Brute and Chief Bottle Washer
Staff member
There is a marked difference between SSR2 and 2.5, so you may want to go with 2.5 if this is an option. However, if you are able to get the job done with SSR2, as long as you've got the time, I'd say use it. Go the least aggressive route possibe!
(You really shouldn't need SSR3-It's POTENT!! Compared to SSR1&2, it's like liquid sandpaper! :eek: )

One thought about the passes made, are you fully working the polish before removing it? Some people tend to go a bit fast if they aren't used to the PC or polishes. If you are basically spreading the polish, going over the area once or twice after and then wiping off the residue, taking all of 1-2 min. per panel, you likely aren't working it well enough.
You don't need to worry about burning the paint with a PC 7336 as you would with a rotary buffer, so you can take some time and "experiment" with the speeds/time in relative safety.
Here's a very good post on using the PC: http://poorboysworld.net/board/viewtopic.php?t=65