First Timer Questions

S

Seymore

I'm new to the detailing arena. I'm nearly 40 and although I've always thought I've taken pretty good care of my cars, after quite a bit of perusing of various detailing forums, it seems that my single bucket wash w/ cotton mit, drying with cotton towels, and a wax job is probably hurting my car's finish more than helping.

I bought an '04 Brilliant Silver G35 sedan about 6 months ago and I just love the car. I want to take care of it to the best of my ability for longevity purposes and I also want it to look the best that it can because I take pride in the car. Although the car is in very good shape, I have no idea how well the paint has been taken care of in the past (i.e. clay bars, polishings, etc.).

I chose Poorboys World products after a good deal of research because of the performance/price positioning and am very much looking forward to spending a couple of days on my cars (my wife drives an '03 Sandstone Mettalic Honda Pilot, we're the original owners) and seeing what a difference the right process and products can really make.

My products should arrive Wednesday (8/27) and I plan to spend this 4 day weekend (I'm off from Thursday at noon through Monday) detailing. I was going to use the Pilot as my "practice" vehicle and move to my G second.

I dropped nearly $200 on product, so a PC is out of the question at the moment (likely later). I have the following product arriving Wed:

Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay Special
Grit Guard Inserts (2)
PB Super Slick & Suds Concentrate
PB EX-P Pure Sealant
PB White Diamond
PB SSR1
PB Natty's Carnauba Paste Wax
PB QD +
Genuine Sheepskin Wash Mitt

I have a few microfiber hand towels and drying towels already. I have a Craftsman 10" buffer that I've used for years to apply and remove wax as well as buff.