Need some product help...

J

jeepwrangler

Hi all,

I am new to pbw and a rookie when it comes to auto detailing. I just finished restoring an older jeep yj and could use some guidance finishing the paint job. I painted it fire red with a single stage paint.(closest color to factory I could find) I have a few questions concerning products and pads. I plan on wet sanding the orange peel so will need to remove sanding marks and very minor imperfections.
1. Is it ok to wet sand with 1000 then again with 1500 (will da get these out)
1. Should I use the SSR mechanical polishes or something chemical based like the PPwC
2. After polishing do you recommend following with something like black hole, ex, then natty blue? not sure on these for the best finish
3. Since it's single stage should I stick with the white LC pads and finish my glaze,etc with black pads?
4. Finally, would you recommend the LC flat or ccs pads?

I know it's just a jeep but I want it to turn out great..it was a blast working on it and I'm really excited about seeing the finished product. Thanks in advance for the help...

P

Pockets

Hi all,

I am new to pbw and a rookie when it comes to auto detailing. I just finished restoring an older jeep yj and could use some guidance finishing the paint job. I painted it fire red with a single stage paint.(closest color to factory I could find) I have a few questions concerning products and pads. I plan on wet sanding the orange peel so will need to remove sanding marks and very minor imperfections.
1. Is it ok to wet sand with 1000 then again with 1500 (will da get these out)

Finish down to the highest you can go 1,500 is a little heavy try going to 2,500 or 3000

1. Should I use the SSR mechanical polishes or something chemical based like the PPwC

I would start with Master Cut or Pro Polish 2 as they will remove the sanding marks , then follow up with SSR2 and/or Professional Polish