Correct order & any further tips for the ultimate gloss shine

Waz65288

Helper
Hi there I'm new to all this & the detailing world.i recently purchased an Audi Q7 ( metallic Daytona dark grey)& wanted to give it a real shine so this is what I did.
1.Washed car( chemical xxxx shampoo)
2.claybarred car with lube
3.washed car & dried
4.polished car with Autoglym polish
5.PB Blackhole glaze
6.PB nattys blue wax (2 coats) 12 hour break between coats
Took me 4 days in total other half wasn't impressed 😉
All done by hand ,it's the first time I have ever done anything like this to my car.what I wanted to know
Was have I done anything wrong,that could of affected the finish and could of been better,after doing more reading on the net ,it seems I should of used a paint cleaner before the polish,but not sure ,also should of used PB SEALENT OR NOT ,again not sure .It looks like it never ends coat after coat my arms ache man ,but not sure if I've got it right.ANY TYPE OF FEEDBACK WILL BE APPRECIATED.

johnnyb

Advanced Helper
Sounds good with what you said you did.

-Unless ya did it for personal pref. you don't need to wait between layers of wax.

-As far as a 'paint cleaner' before polish step, a polish is a type of paint cleaner so to speak. I sometimes can't interpret whats written the right way, bear with me if I'm off subject lol.

-PB's paint sealant would be an optional step if ya wanted that protection with it as well.

When you're ready for it, dual action polishers with the right chems and pads can be extremely safe and forgiving for anyone looking to improve their speed. Most of the time you'll see better results with machine polishing and glazes, and sometimes better coverage with lsp's. :smt023

ronkh

Da King
Honestly, if it were me an doing it all by hand, I would have skipped the "polish" and gone straight to the black hole, then seal, and/or, wax wax...........

Waz65288

Helper